NSA Makes Major Appointments At NCCSALW

ABUJA – The National Security Adviser (NSA), Major General Mohammed Babagana Monguno (Retd) has approved the appointment of Zonal Coordinators for the National Centre for the Control of Small Arms and Light Weapons (NCCSALW).

This was disclosed by the Pioneer National Coordinator of the Centre, Major General AM Dikko (Rtd) following the accent by the NSA.

According to a statement signed by Air Commodore E. Akintunde for the National Coordinator of NCCSALW, the appointment of the Zonal Coordinators for the six geopolitical zones was in “pursuant to the mandate of the Centre and to further operationalize its activities towards the eradication of illicit Small Arms and Light Weapons (SALW) nationwide.”

The appointed Zonal Coordinators are said to be comprised of senior retired officers from the security agencies.

The appointees include “AVM HU Mohammed (Rtd) for the North-West Zone, Major General HI Bature (Retd) – North Central and Rear Admiral AS Mohammed(Rtd) – North East. Others include Mr. Akinlade Ben Sola (Rtd) from the Department of State Service for the South-West Zone, Major General Okechukwu Ugo (Rtd) – South-East and Major General IM Obot (Rtd) for the South-South Zone.”

The National Coordinator in a statement further explained that the appointees are “qualified senior experienced officers from the security agencies selected to administer the affairs of the Centre at the sub-national level.

“The appointment of the Zonal Coordinators closely follows the approval for the establishment of Zonal Centres in the six geopolitical zones namely, Kaduna, Minna, Maiduguri, Ado-Ekiti, Enugu and Calabar.

“The appointments were done in a bid to ensure the attainment of the Centre’s mandate in ensuring an Arms-Free society.”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please reload

Please Wait