2023: Tinubu, Amaechi, five others seeking APC presidential ticket

No fewer than seven candidates have formally declared to contest the 2023 presidency under the platform of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).

Other aspirants rumoured to have presidential ambition in the party yet to declare their intention include: Vice President Yemi Osinbajo and the Governor of Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN), Godwin Emefiele.

These aspirants are expected to battle for the presidential ticket of the ruling party.

Checks by The Nation show all the aspirants except Kogi Governor Yahaya Bello are from the southern part of the country.

Although the APC is yet to zone the presidential slot, there are speculations it would zone it to the South which comprises the South-west, South-east and South-south geo-political zones.

These are the candidates who have show interest “formally”:

  • Asiwaju Bola Tinubu
  • Governor Yahaya Bello of Kogi State
  • Governor Dave Umahi of Ebonyi State
  • Former Abia governor and serving senator, Orji Kalu
  • Former Imo governor and senator, Rochas Okorocha.
  • Rotimi Amaechi
  • Yemi Osinbajo

Of all the aspirants, only Tinubu has been visiting different caucuses of the party, including its members in the National Assembly, soliciting their support.

He also visited Buhari to inform him of his desire to succeed him in 2023.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please reload

Please Wait